top of page
  • Writer's pictureEjecty

From Mythril to Champion: Climbing Strategies for Every Level

Updated: Oct 18, 2020

Hey everyone Ejecty here with an article to detail my climb from Mythril to Champion and discuss some of the climbing strategies I used that I feel can be applied to any level on the ladder.


1) Choosing a Deck

Some people may view climbing the ladder as an occurrence simply from playing the most meta decks. I firmly believe that Mythgard has far too much player agency for a deck to carry any individual. For this reason I will say this, I recommend playing a well optimized deck but it by no means needs to be the best of the best to climb. You simply need to know your deck, its win conditions, and where it exceeds.


2) Managing Tilt


Climbing the ladder is hard, climbing the ladder is even harder once you get tilted. Managing tilt is an important factor to maintaining a good rate of climb. You need to be OK with losing to a top deck from your opponent. You need to be OK with bad match ups. Letting these type of losses affect you can then drag you down further. Rather than blame the luck of the draw or factors beyond your control make sure to go back over games and find things YOU could have done better.


3) Making Use of Streaks



Sometimes you are just in the groove of playing and really feeling it. This is obviously the best time to climb. I have an important distinction I will make to myself once I have 3+ games. "Stop on the next loss." I think this is very important because sometimes people will let a single loss derail their streak and then attempt to get back up to a new streak. Being OK with ending your session on a loss can help you climb further in the long run.


4) Know The Meta


Knowing the meta doesn't necessarily mean you have to be playing the meta, but you can't ignore the fact that everyone else is. You need to be aware of what decks you will run into and play accordingly each time. The player that wins is the one that can play their own game while negating the game of their opponent. Knowing what decks people are running and what their goals are can drastically help any climb.


These are just some of the few ways I was able to climb so efficiently from Mythril to Champion in about 2 weeks time while maintaining a 65-70% win rate.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page